Women, Karaoke, and Business–Hear SmartWoman Sing!

Hear SmartWoman sing!
CLICK ON THE “RATE THIS PERFORMACE LINK” BELOW TO HEAR MY SONG:

Rate this performance at The Sims On Stage

 

 

As a lifelong singing fantatic, the advent of karaoke was a dream come true for me. I simply love it. I’ve even been a KJ (karaoke host) so that should give you some perspective. It’s just so much fun!

One of the reasons why I enjoy karaoke so much, beyond the fun of singing, is you get to see into the heart of people. You witness a side of their personality that doesn’t always have a chance to show up in day to day living, especially the business side of their life. It’s a rare glimpse into their souls and it’s very intimate.

It takes courage to stand up in front of people and sing your heart out. And, make no mistake–the most audience beloved singers are not the ones that are perfect singers. It’s the ones that mean it, that sing their heart out with all they’ve got. People crave authenticity and like to feel they can relate to you.

I tend to have a bit of stage fright in front of groups, so karaoke gives me the chance to practice my performance muscles, to put myself out there and get over it. Much like when you are giving a sales presentation or a keynote address, you are in the spotlight with all eyes and ears on you. Having the skill, the strength of spirit to allow that level of energy to flow through you and out of you is a valuable thing.

Don’t forget the fun and comraderie! Add a small touch of imbibing and you have a full blown confidence party, right?  I’m not suggesting that you have to be drunk to let go (I don’t), but taking baby steps to comfort yourself and nudge yourself into doing something new can change your entire perspective. Sip a margarita a bit (or meditate or go to one of those fire walking classes) if you need to, but jump in. Initiative always gets rewarded.

It’s easy to see how this relates to your business, isn’t it? Showing your authentic self, letting your guard down so people can relate to you, courage, initiative, fun, confidence, feeling comfortable in the spotlight…it all adds up to a better you as a woman entrepreneur.

So, grab some girlfriends and go check out your local karaoke scene. If you are just so shy you can’t imagine doing it in pubic, try going to www.singshot.com and singing a song or two there. Record them and share them with the online community. Even that can be a challenge so just do it.

To show I mean what I say, I recorded a song for you. It’s The Rose, made popular by Bette Midler. My singing isn’t perfect and I am nervous to share it with you, but I want to show you that I take my own advice. Go and have a listen then post your songs here. When you have a supportive community like this one, take advantage of it and do the scary things. It’s worth it. 🙂

Together, we are stronger!
Vicki Flaugher

 

Hear SmartWoman sing!
CLICK ON THE “RATE THIS PERFORMACE LINK” BELOW TO HEAR MY SONG:

Rate this performance at The Sims On Stage

 

 

 

3 Responses

  1. Great voice! I wish I had a voice that great! Keep up the great work! You’re right, Karaoke is a great exercise for feeling comfortable in the spotlight. Every entrepreneur needs to find her voice in some form or another whether signing, journaling, blogging, speaking up, or raising h&ll!

  2. Thanks for the compliment. Singing is one of my therapies–it’s so much more constructive than other choices. I DO like your suggestion about raising h&ll though…if you want to guest blog here, let me know and you can raise some here! 🙂

    Finding your voice as a woman and as an entrepreneur is very liberating. I couldn’t agree more, Entrepreneur Goddess. So, what song are you going to record for us? nudge nudge…
    Vicki

  3. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

